EllioHC

Keeping a secure copy of your wallet on a webserver

2 posts in this topic

Keeping a secure copy of your wallet on a webserver

Hi Guys,

My friend has been in to crypto currencies now for a couple of years and he bought in ETH when it was getting crowdfunded, gutted I didn't listen to him. We're both Ex RAF and electronic engineers.

About 10 years ago I started coding and I've done a lot of stuff, my friend has made quite a bit of money investing in a whole load of startups from the initial ETH he bought and he kindly gave me a load of something yesterday before the adjustment.

It was enough to get my worrying, what if my house burns down, a meteor hit's the UK while I'm on holiday or there is a zombie appocolypse. Anyway, I thought wouldn't it be good to keep a copy on a web server.

Then I was thinking, bare in mind this is a guy who worries about meteors and zombies, maybe the people that host my webspace look through my files or it gets hacked...

Anyway, having spent 6 years in Digital Datacomms and Satcomms in the RAF, I know that the most secure method of encryption is end-to-end with only one key, public/private key is not secure.

So yesterday I wrote a very simple app that encrypts files using a key of at least 16 characters in length, it can be any thing at all. I am offering it free to anyone who wants to use it and all I ask is that you make a little contribution if you find it useful.

You can download it here, just be careful, there is no way of de-crypting the data if you forget your key. Feel free to share the hell out of it. I want to be a Bitcoin millionaire! :D

http://www.molyneux.systems/EnCrypto